The Meadows Equestrian Centre

Bumper Day With RUAS Qualifiers At The Meadows

Bumper Day as RUAS Qualifier travel to Meadows over Easter weekend. 


There certainly was no shortage of eager athletes last week with nearly 400 entries processed at the Meadows Equestrian Centre, Lurgan.   As hosting venue to the latest Royal Ulster Agricultural Society (RUAS) national show jumping qualifiers and with  resident designer, Aaron McCusker attending to the Show jumping phase of Eventing Ireland's Tyrella event, the mantle fell to Senior National designer, Ray Buchanan. 


In the RUAS Amateur qualifier, making it two years in a row, 'Coppindell Concorde' ridden by Joe Harris took the top honors once again after a thrilling jump off.  Fermanagh based athlete, Gabriel Tunney  had a very busy day, picking up multiple qualifications, the first of which was in the 5 Year Old qualifier with his own 'Castle OJ’, winning the class was Fergus Reid with his father Derek’s ‘I’m Boss W.H'.  As making it two in a row Edward Little was the winner of the 6/7 Qualifier once again, this time onboard ‘Black Rock Beauty', followed closely by Olivia Roulston with Ronan McLaughlin’s  'Gerderieka II VI’.   In an exciting class, Jonathan

Smyth  did enough to hold onto the lead in the 1.35m qualifier with Roy Craig’s  'Beltirm Brother Ava', despite a gutsy challenge from John Floody who had to settle for 2nd place. 


Show Jumping continues this weekend with the starting leg of the SJI Horse series, but also the popular unregistered classes will make a return.  Both arenas commencing at 9.30am.



RUAS Amateur Qualifier

- 1, Joe Harris`s Coppindell Concorde (Joe Harris); 2, Fiona Thompson`s Curolea Roni (Fiona Thompson); 3, Jillian Nelson`s Bannfield (Danielle Kennedy); 4, Lynn Kelly`s Donaghmore Dolly(aes) (Lynn Kelly); 5, Alison Ruth Mcclean`s Shilow Natal (Alison Ruth Mcclean); 6, Rachelle Harding`s Nonavic Temara (Rachelle Harding).


RUAS 5 Year Old Qualifier

- 1, Derek Reid`s I'm Boss W.H (Fergus Reid); 2, Clare Craig`s HTS Carnanbreagha (John Floody); 3, Brian Barkley`s Boleybawn Dakota (Edward Little); 4, G. Tunney & L. Morrison `s Castle OJ (Gabriel Tunney); 5, Vincent Burton`s Drumrankin Diva (John Higgins); 6, Mary Monaghan`s PEPSI COLA HH Z (Sean Monaghan).


RUAS 6/7 Year Old Qualifier

- 1, David Cross`s Blackrock Beauty (Edward Little); 2, Ronan Mclaughlin `s Gerderieka II VI (Olivia A Roulston); 3, Cliodhna Breen`s Ardragh Chekoff (Frank Curran); 4, Shane Mcglone`s SMG Cruiser (Shane Mcglone); 5, Stephen Duncan`s Darling Sherlock (Gabriel Tunney); 6, Gabriel Tunney`s Candy Man (Gabriel Tunney).


RUAS 1.35m Qualifier

- 1, Roy Craig`s Beltrim Brother Ava (Jonathan Smyth); 2, Jim & Tony Magennis`s Shalamar Cassino (John Floody); 3, Joy Robinson`s True Titanium (Shannon Robinson); 4, Edgar Hogg`s Intuitive (James Hogg); 5, Peter Mc Eneaney`s Moonlite Cavalier (Conor Mc Eneaney); 6, Linda Courtney`s lcc katenko (Kelly Taggart).



- Divided between Louise Houston`s Ballybrack Tom (Louise Houston), Aoife Wilde`s Big Time Kildaragh (Aoife Wilde), Thomas Taite`s Cianna Z (Abigail Stafford), Vincent Burton`s Drumrankin Ceasar (John Higgins), Sharon Jewhurst`s Ferro Elektra (Sharon Jewhurst), Gillian Johnston`s Greenday Van De Burgthoeve (John Higgins), Lisa Corry`s Inishcruise (Lisa Corry), Haidee Stafford`s MJM Vanity Fair (Abigail Stafford), Liam Mckee`s Paolo Nutini (Catherine Thornton), Vanessa Murnaghan`s Russiana (Vanessa Murnaghan).



- Divided between Jennifer Leeper`s Ardragh Cordubh (Jennifer Leeper), Alexandra Bailey`s Callie LVS Z (Alexandra Bailey), Kathryn O'Hagan`s CHS Fortitude (John O'hagan), Larry Muldoon`s Coolrock Celtic Heart (Ryan O'neill), Brian Smyth`s D. Douglas SB (Brian Smyth), Gillian Beechinor`s Darinde (Gillian Beechinor), Avril Cox-Mills`s Finsceal Indianna (Lucinda Mills), Joanna Curran`s Intis (Joanna Curran), Lionel Johnston`s Lady Chino (Lionel Johnston), Brian Smyth`s Lucy Ludo (Brian Smyth), Sheikh Samir Mirdad`s Mirdads Fareeedat Alrahmaaan (John Floody), Sheikh Samir Mirdad`s Mirdads Zamzaaam (John Floody), John Carlin`s Mongorry Cruise Molly (Melissa Tinney).



- 1, Sarah Burns `s Georgies Star (Sarah Burns ); 2, Desmond & Shane Mcfadden`s Mr Easy Street (Mackenzie Healy); 3, Joanna Curran`s Intis (Joanna Curran); 4, Pamela Fox`s Bonny Sir Edward (Vikki Fox); 5, Aiden Mcgrory`s HEARTBREAK DIAMOND (Kelda Morgan); 6, Rachel Ward`s Tiffcrum Abbey (Rachel Ward).



- 1, William Greene`s Edentrillick Lucy Lou (Hannah Agnew); 2, Sarah Burns `s Foxy Finn (Sarah Burns ); 3, Alanna Patterson`s Tynan Orchid (James Hogg); 4, David Gibson`s SGS WELCOME LOUIE (Stephen Gibson); 5, Marble Arch Equine Ltd c/o Bernard Conlon`s Interpreter (Katie Conlon); 6, Ciara Coyle`s C And G Pie (John Higgins).



- 1, Patrick mc williams`s DRUMROT PENNY (Patrick John Mc Williams); 2, Marble Arch Equine Ltd c/o Bernard Conlon`s Interpreter (Katie Conlon).




Monday 2nd April 2018

More News...