The Meadows Equestrian Centre

Hot Compeition As RDS Places Decided at The Meadows

An air of optimism came to the Meadows over the weekend as athletes from all over the island of Ireland travelled to the Lurgan complex for the penultimate qualifier for pony, children on horses and young rider classes for the 2018 Dublin Horse Show, annually staged by the Royal Dublin Society.


Having a busy day,  local riders  Natasha Kerr, Camryn Clarke, Alex Finney and John McEntee booked their placed in the pony finals later this summer.  Natasha with her mother Gillian’s 'Pauldrays Pocket Rocket’ [148 1.30m, Camryn with his mother Victoria’s ‘It’s Only Money’ [128 1.10m] Alex with Joe McMahon’s ‘Western Oreo’ [138 1.20m] and John McEntee with Dermott Lennon’s ‘Brooklyn Du Granit’ in the popular 1486/7 Year Old qualifier.  


Sunday saw the turn of the young adults, as the young rider categories were decided.  Under the watchful eye of RDS appointed designer Aaron McCusker, riders were tested to the max to make sure those getting their hands on the coveted entries forms were truly deserved recipients.  Congratulations to regular competitors Niamh McEvoy (Charlton Chloe) [Children On Horses] and Johnathan Smyth (Charlton Clio) [Young Riders 1.35/1.40m] who secured those all important qualifications to the Dublin Horse Show.


Pony Results

Saturday 30th June 2018


128 RDS Qualifier (7 to Qualify)

- 1, Jonathan Reape`s Valor (Senan Reape); 2, Jonathan Reape`s Little Miss Millie (Katie McEntee); 3, Michael Murphy`s Taggarts Express (Lauren Murphy); 4, Anita Duffy`s Mickybo (Senan Reape); 5, Victoria Clarke`s ITS ONLY MONEY (Camryn Clarke); 6, Coolmore Showjumping`s Little Jack Spratt (Alice Wachman).


138 RDS Qualifier (7 to Qualify)

- 1, Foleys Ponys`s Top Silvio Hastak (Max Foley); 2, Joe McMahon`s Western Oreo (Alex Finney); 3, Martin Kirrane`s Nightlady (John Martin Kirrane); 4, Tim Brennan`s Latoons Full Back (Timmy Brennan); 5, Powers Equine`s Bear Me In Mind (Alice Power); 6, Pauline Costello`s Jalisco T (Aaron Costello).


148 6&7 Year Old RDS Qualifier

- 1, Paddy Bligh`s Castlehill Titan (Katelynn Kilkenny); 2, Dermott Lennon`s Brooklyn Du Granit (John McEntee); 3, Miriam O'Donnell`s Glor Tire Cruise (Sarah O'Donnell); 4, Geoff Flanagan`s Cullintra royal (Jodie Flanagan); 5, Miguel Bravo`s HHS Mustang Sally (John McEntee); 6, Rachel Sheridan`s Oatfield Rosie (Robyn Fagan).


148 RDS Qualifier ( 7 to Qualify)

- 1, Anita Duffy`s Tirconaill Bluebell (Orla Duffy); 2, Andrew Thompson`s Sligo Little James (Ellen Thompson); 3, Gillian Kerr`s Pauldarys Pocket Rocket (Natasha Kerr); 4, John Lawler`s Kec Sofia (James Connors Smyth); 5, Maeve McEvoy`s Fireman (Niamh McEvoy); 6, Aidan Kavanagh`s Clonmoyle Cowboy (Aidan Kavanagh).


Children On Horses & Young Riders

Sunday 1st July 2018


1.15m COH RDS Qualifier- 4 to qualify

- 1, Maeve McEvoy`s Charlton Chloe (Niamh McEvoy); 2, Donal Geaney`s Doon Alright (Jack Geaney); 3, Lorcan Hennessy`s Ballynoe Carnival Girl (Seamus Hennessy); 4, Ennisnag Stud`s ESI Carvalho (Isobel Hughes Kennedy); 5, Martin Kirrane`s Knockmullen Chap (John Martin Kirrane); 6, Desmond & Shane Mcfadden`s Mr Easy Street (Cormac Taggart).


1.10/1.15m Young Rider RDS Qualifier- 5 to Qualify

- 1, Michael Brennan`s MHS Baby Blue (Cian Goggins); 2, Edward Widger`s Beach House (Jason Foley); 3, Aidan Kavanagh`s Graffique (Aidan Kavanagh); 4, Mary Boland`s Ginelli (Eva Boland); 5, O'CONN STABLES LIMITED`s Ragazza Di Papa (Cian O Connell); 6, Roughan Farm`s Paris delux (Daryl Somerville).


1.25/1.30m Young Rider RDS Qualifier- 5 to qualify

- 1, Marble Arch Equine Ltd c/o Bernard Conlon`s Interpreter (Katie Conlon); 2, Coolmore Showjumping`s Cesha Old (Max Wachman); 3, Ann Connors`s Lantino 31 (Nicholas D. Connors); 4, Brian Tuffy`s BAGATELLIE 27 (Taylor Sweeney); 5, Grace Mchugh`s Berlios Van De Kapel (Grace Mchugh); 6, Charlie Soden`s Quiara M (Kayleigh Soden).


1.35/1.40m Young Rider RDS Qualifier- 4 to qualify

- 1, Susan Sweetnam`s Fergie (KWPN) (Abbie Sweetnam); 2, Richard J W Smyth`s Charlton Clio (Jonathan Smyth); 3, Pat Squibb`s CANANT (Ciaran Nallon); 4, Brian Murphy`s Chantelle (Stephen Murphy); 5, Edmond Kearney`s Fanta M (Tadhg Kearney); 6, Anna Carway`s AJACCIO (Anna Carway).



Thursday 5th July 2018

More News...