Denis Crowned Baileys Horse Feeds Flexi Eventing Champion for 2020

Denis Currie was crowned the Baileys Horse Feeds Flexi Eventing Champion for 2020 on the last day of the current Series run jointly by Eventing Ireland, Northern Region, and the Meadows Equestrian Centre. During a fifteen minute break in proceedings, the presentations to the top fifteen placed riders were made by Judy Maxwell of Baileys Horse Feeds, the very generous and supportive Sponsor.

Points were accumulated over the eight weeks of the League and Denis Currie and Arodstown Aramis snatched victory by a half point margin from Nikki Cullen and Danske Coevers Lass.

Meantime, action continued on Saturday with another, non-League, Flexi Eventing day, giving competitors from all walks of equestrianism another opportunity to get ‘match fit’ before their season begins.

Will McAuley had the pleasure of judging the 29 starters in the Intro class where Johnny Mulligan topped the leaderboard on David McClurg’s Ciderman, an eight year old gelding by Loughehoe Guy which was making its first appearance in a dressage arena. The runner up was Jon Champion riding Garrybritt Orbis Coin, his thirteen year old gelding by the Thoroughbred stallion, Orbis. 

Johnny Mulligan certainly had a busy but a very successful day, claiming his second win in the Pre Novice section under the watchful eye of Judge, Janet Hall. This time he smashed the 70% barrier on board Courtney Stewart’s, Vino, a five year old by Follow Me, out of a Hanoverian mare. The Stewart family from Gransha Equestrian Centre bought Vino from Holland earlier this year and Courtney has been spending the time since getting to know this young stallion and is very much looking forward to producing him to realise his full potential. Sixteen year old East Antrim Pony Club member, Lauren Carville, occupied the runner up spot on Rosie (Castlelodge Osmium Rose) and they also took 11th place in the League overall out of 702 participating combinations.

Denis Currie and Arodstown Aramis, proved their League Championship title was no ‘flash in the pan’ as they, once again showed their consistency with a win in the Novice class which was also judged by Janet Hall. Another very consistent duo, Alex Cleland and Rafa Smash,  finished one and a half points behind with a result which reflects a lot of hard and painstaking work over the past couple of years.

There were just two starters in the Intermediate class where Alex Houston had a run away victory on Skyfall Echo, her twelve year old Clover Echo mare which she last evented at Camphire International in 2018. They scored 78.5% against another fabulous score of 72.5% awarded to Helen Faulkner and Derryvane Danny.

The Showjumping Judges were kept particularly busy as many SJI members were out to gain that important practice before the start of the registered shows at The Meadows this incoming week.

As always, thank you to the army of helpers who braved all kinds of weather over the nine weeks and to all the competitors who supported this very popular series of Flexi Eventing.

Huge thanks, too, to our faithful Sponsor, Judy Maxwell for everything she does for our sport.

Eventing Ireland action moves to Tyrella this coming Saturday for the Annual Two Phase event prior to the start of the eventing season the following Saturday, 21 March.

Full Results

Arena 1 – Intro-Judge: Will McAuley

  1. Johnny Mulligan, Ciderman
  2. Jon Champion, Orbie
  3. Beverley Caves, Marge
  4. Johnny Mulligan, Ash
  5. Janie Cairns, Opal
  6. Caitie Slater, Herbie


Arena 2- Pre Novice- Judge: Janet Hall

  1. Johnny Mulligan, Vino
  2. Lauren Carville, Rosie
  3. Lesley Jones, Christy
  4. Neil Morrison, Massey
  5. Neil Morrison, Diane

6=  Rachael Broome, Boyher Cookies ‘N’ Crème & Conor McClory, Hilda & Tori Jewiss, Hazel & Penny Murphy, Kontiki


Arena 2- Novice- Judge: Janet Hall

  1. Denis Currie, Arodstown Aramis
  2. Alex Cleland, Rafa Smash
  3. Ellen Douglas, Rock Melody
  4. Jodie O’Leary, Jack
  5. Lynne Tennis, Dowdstown Dancer
  6. Florence Smith, Ben


Arena 2- Intermediate – Judge: Janet Hall

  1. Alex Houston, Echo
  2. Helen Faulkner, Derryvane Danny


Showjumping (Double Clears)


Noel McKee, Keeford Constellation, Caitie Slater, Herbie, Kenny Trainer, Go Go, Shannon Trainer, Horse, Noel McKee, Ginger


 Hannah Burns, Kenny, Lucy Telford, Billy, Beverley Caves, Jimmy, Heather Smith, Kai, Yvonne Whiteside, Sunny, Kate Miller, Horse, Stephanie Fox, Summer, Helen Faulkner, Derryvane Danny, Michaela Donnelly, Horse, Lara McRobb, Flicka, Kerry McTaggert, Fancy Pants, David Taylor, Ardtara


Lucy Morton, Blossom, Sorcha Hanley, My Seafield Romeo, Stephanie Wilding, Belle, Alex Greer, Phoenix Spark, Claire Badger, Polo, Scarlet Thompson, Interstat Cleopatra, Lucy Morton, Romeo, Conor McClory, Black Jack, Yvonne Whiteside, Lexi, Johnny Mulligan, Bay Boy, Lucy Morton, Romeo, Ronnie Morton, Jay, Ronnie Morton, Fred


Lesley Jones, Kilpatrick Lord, Lesley Jones, Christy, Stephen McManus, Digit, Anya Teuton, Lisrua Star, Lauren Carville, Rosie, Kat Butler-Ward, The Spin Doctor, Johnny Mulligan, Rock Shore, Gareth Clinghan, Pippa, Nadia Scanlon, Pure Magic, Eddie Mulligan, Star, Nicky Nesbitt, Ringfort India, Claire Badger, Sisko, Rebecca McFarland, Mario, Alex Cleland, Rafa Smash, Holly Wray, Millie, Janie Cairns, Horse, Yvonne Whiteside, Lexi


Fiona Cooper, Tibs, Tori Jewiss, Hazel, Jodie O’Leary, Jack, Ailbhe McGrath, Tredstep Renaissance Man, Pretoria Lee, Cassdini, Charlotte Keers, Western Ocala, Jackson Laing, Oakwood Tango, Charlotte Dixon, Trump, Claire Badger, Cisken, Janie Cairns, Opal, Alex Houston, Indie, Victoria Lee, Horse, Janie Cairns, Betty B, Tara Dixon, Hawaii, Ronnie Morton, Sadie, Alex Houston, Echo, Tara Dixon, Kieran


Fiona Cooper, Bump, David Taylor, Junior, Janie Cairns, Horse, Ronnie Morton, Bob


Cross Country (Clear rounds)


Jenny Lindsay, Fanad Romeo, Claire Kirkwood, Domino, Heather Beattie, Huntingfield Duchess, Eoghan Devery, Clover, Caitie Slater, Herbie, Daniel Cullen, Ginger, Shane Cullen, Big Tom, Eimear Donaghy, Frank, Johnny Mulligan, Lisnasure, Louise Brown, Bertie, Kate Millar, Nathan, Alex Cleland, Rafa Smash, Anna Beattie, Phoenix, Charlotte Keers, Western Ocala, Arlene Greenaway, Warrier Bob, Rachel Simmons, Golden Grove Royal Wedding, Kathryn Henderson, Betty, Jon Champion, Orbie


Anya Teuton, Lisrua Star, Beverley Caves, Marge, Wendy Kirk, Bear, Laura Napier, Max, Kristen Kleinman, Dirrella Diamond, Kerry Parkhill, Ted, Kerry Parkhill, Elsa, Helen Faulkner, Con, Caroline Miller, Alfie, Michaela Donnelly, Scotty, Florence Smith, Ben, Ailsa Martin, Shakira


Kerry Magill, Cruz, Lauren Carville, Rosie, Johnny Mulligan, Rockshore, Abby Cummiskey, Jacob, Kat Butler-Ward, The Spin Doctor, Laura Napier, Harley, Stephanie Wilding, Belle, Lynne Tennis, Dowdstown Dancer, Johnny Mulligan, Ciderman, Johnny Mulligan, Diamond Queen, Jodie O’Leary, Jack, Abigail McGrath, Tredstep Renaissance Man, Jordana Busby, Horse, Charlotte Dixon, Milo, Charlotte Dixon, Trump, Sophie Donald, Apache, Diane Scott, Rosie, Chloe Rooney, Kings Flight, Gemma Chambers, Blueoak Harry, Tara Dixon, Fred, Tara Dixon, Hawaii, Alex Greer, Phoenix Spark, Hannah Morrow, My Good Thyne Girl, Conor Coey, Horse, Tara Dixon, Kieran



Book Now
There are no products in the cart!
Continue Shopping